A Sweet Review: My Little Kupkake, Collingswood

inside store

When you walk into My Little Kupkake on Haddon Avenue in Collingswood, you’re greeted by friendly faces and bright colors on the walls. The shop is tiny but big enough to hold the case full of cupcakes, handmade children’s hats and a few chairs nestled by the window. It feels homey and welcoming, like you could spend hours there on a lazy afternoon.

I spent a few minutes checking out the plethora of flavors the shop offered and I decided on a classic Carrot cupcake after Darlene, the shop manager, explained to me that it’s a fan favorite. “We have over 150 flavors, but we do have our fan favorites that we keep in the case every day. Carrot is definitely one of those,” she said.

I could easily tell why. The cupcake itself was moist and delicious, filled with walnuts and raisins and shreds of carrot. The icing, a cream cheese based one, was delectable. “We always use the classic cream cheese icing for Carrot and Red Velvet, it seems to get good reviews,” she explained to me.

Before going into the shop, I walked briefly around Haddon Avenue and noticed that most of the stores on the street were food based, making My Little Kupkake fit in perfectly but also stand out. The shop is the one of the only dessert one on the strip and easily gains lots of attention from patrons who just ate lunch or dinner down the street.

With “cupcakeries” popping up all around the area, I was curious as to what Darlene thought made My Little Kupkake unique. After spending a minute or two thinking about her response, she explained, “I think it’s our size. We’re tiny and family-run, it’s more intimate. Also, our flavors seem to be a big hit.”

“A lot of other places just have a chocolate or vanilla base for the cupcake and they flavor the icing, but we bake everything into the cupcake. For example, if it’s a Snicker’s cupcake, you’re going to find actual Snickers baked into the cupcake. Our chocolate peanut butter cupcake has peanut butter on the inside. We like to surprise people when they take a bite,” she said.

flavors

To get an outsider’s view on the cupcakes, I spent some time with one of the customers in the shop. Delaney Platas was visiting the area with her mother when they decided to check out My Little Kupkake.

“I’ve been craving a cupcake for a while and this happened to be here,  I didn’t even know but I’m glad it is,” she said, smiling.

Platas tried the Chocolate Peanut Butter cupcake and couldn’t say anything but nice things about it. “It was absolutely delicious. I loved it. I’ll definitely be back.”

choc peanut butter

The shop is open seven days a week, with different flavors in the case each day. It’s located at 685 Haddon Ave., Collingswood, NJ. Check out their website, here!

Overall Rating: 8.5/10

One thought on “A Sweet Review: My Little Kupkake, Collingswood

  1. Pingback: Parting is such Sweet Sorrow | South Jersey Cupcake

Leave a Reply

